Skip to main content

Art in the Casals Forum

Sculptures C major and Timbre (Anthony Cragg)

Before entering the Casals Forum, visitors are greeted by two sculptures by British sculptor Anthony Cragg (*1949), which were designed especially for the Casals Forum: the large bronze C major is located on Beethoven Platz and Timbre sits beside the crossing to Victoria Park (2022). These abstract sculptures embody the concept of a vibrating string and thus establish a connection between visual art and music.

Bust of Pablo Casals (Robert Berks)

The bronze bust standing towards the rear of the entrance foyer was created in honour of the Catalan cellist, composer, conductor and advocate for peace, Pablo Casals. It was modelled in 1977 by American sculptor Robert Berks (1922-2011) for the General Assembly building of the United Nations in New York, where the first cast can still be seen today. Music was never an end in itself for the cello virtuoso Casals, but rather an incentive that could be placed in the service of his fellow man. The bust is on loan from the Pau Casals Museum in El Vendrell, Spain.

Woodcut from Suite Erker (Antoni Tàpies)

Humanitarian responsibility, existential questions and a love of classical music all play a major role in the artistic works of Casals’ countryman Antoni Tàpies (1923-2012). His woodcut from Suite Erker (1992) stands opposite the bronze bust of the cellist. It depicts an open black book filled only with the meagre numerical sequence 123 – a metaphor for the book of life, perhaps?

Wall Piece (Karin Sander)

In Wall Piece (2022), renowned conceptual artist Karin Sander (*1957) has recreated one of her most famous works and has chosen one of the most frequented places in the foyer, opposite the cloakroom and next to the main staircase, to execute it. Sander worked intensively on the wall until a polished square, a smooth and reflective “picture” on the wall, was produced. “Know Yourself” holds fascinating promise, placed as it is in front of the cloakroom: like in a sort of interworld, visitors can see themselves but without a mirror image.

Flylight (Studio Drift)

Above the steps up to the Crespo Foyer, visitors can experience Flylight (2020), a light installation inspired by flocks of starlings, created by the Dutch collective Studio Drift (founded by Ralph Nauta and Lonneke Gordijn in 2007). Innumerable blown glass tubes fitted with lights lead the way over visitors’ heads up to the glazed Crespo Foyer. And there is a pleasing connection between the stylised flock and the Catalan folk song that Pablo Casals made his Hymn for Peace – “El Cant dels Ocells”, or “The Song of the Birds”

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Skip to main content

Kunst im Casals Forum

Skulpturen C-Dur und Timbre (Anthony Cragg)

Vor dem Eintritt ins Casals Forum begrüßen den Besucher zwei Skulpturen des britischen Bildhauers Anthony Cragg (*1949), die eigens für das Casals Forum entworfen wurden: die große Skulptur C-Dur auf dem Beethoven Platz und Timbre im Übergang zum Victoria Park (2022). Die abstrakten Skulpturen verkörpern die Vorstellung einer schwingenden Saite und stellen somit die Verbindung von bildender Kunst und Musik her.

Büste von Pablo Casals (Robert Berks)

Die Bronzebüste von Pablo Casals im hinteren Teil des Eingangsfoyers entstand zu Ehren des katalanischen Cellisten, Komponisten, Dirigenten und Kämpfers für den Frieden Pablo Casals. Der amerikanische Bildhauer Robert Berks (1922-2011) modellierte sie 1977 für das Hauptgebäude der Vereinten Nationen in New York, wo der erste Abguss heute noch zu sehen ist. Für den Cellovirtuosen war die Musik kein Selbstzweck, sondern ein Ansporn, sie in den Dienst seiner Mitmenschen zu stellen. Die Büste ist eine Leihgabe des Museo Pau Casals, El Vendrell Spanien.

Holzschnitt aus der Suite Erker (Antoni Tàpies)

Humanitäre Verantwortung, existenzielle Fragen und die Liebe zur klassischen Musik spielen auch im bildnerischen Werk seines Landsmanns Antoni Tàpies (1923-2012) eine große Rolle. Der Bronzebüste gegenüber steht sein Holzschnitt aus der Suite Erker (1992). Er zeigt ein dunkles aufgeschlagenes Buch mit der kargen Zahlenfolge 123 – eine Metapher für das Buch des Lebens?

Wandstück (Karin Sander)

Die renommierte Konzeptkünstlerin Karin Sander (*1957) hat für das Casals Forum mit Wandstück (2022) eines ihrer bekanntesten Werke neu realisiert und dafür den meistfrequentierten Ort im Foyer gegenüber der Garderobe und neben der Haupttreppe gewählt. Sander hat die Wand intensiv bearbeitet, bis auf ihr ein poliertes Rechteck, ein glattes und reflektierendes Wandbild, entsteht. „Erkenne Dich Selbst“ ist vor der Garderobe ein faszinierendes Versprechen: Wie in einer Zwischenwelt kann der Besucher sich sehen, doch ohne eine Spiegelung zu haben.

Flylight (Studio Drift)

Im Aufgang zum Crespo Foyer ist Flylight (2020) zu erleben, eine von Vogelschwärmen inspirierte Lichtinstallation des niederländischen Kollektivs Studio Drift (gegründet 2007 von Ralph Nauta und Lonneke Gordijn). Über den Köpfen der Besucher führen unzählige mundgeblasene, mit Lichtern bestückte Glasröhren hinauf ins verglaste Crespo Foyer. Der stilisierte Vogelschwarm lässt das von Pablo Casals zum Friedenslied gemachte katalanische Volkslied Cant dels Ocells – Gesang der Vögel assoziieren.

Cookie Consent mit Real Cookie Banner